Upcoming Concerts

image representing the concert

St. John's Passion

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Johannes-Passion BWV 245
  • Jonas Kraft (*1999) - Introitus
  • Richard Röbel (*1988) - TiefenGrund
  • Valentin Ruckebier (*1997) - Wahrheit?


  • Leipzig, 07, April 2024 here
  • Berlin, 22, March 2024 here
  • Chemnitz, 23, March 2024 here
  • Zeitz, 24, March 2024 here

300 years after the first performance Bachs St. John's Passion will be performed in a reconstructed original version of 1724, enhanced by contemporary reflections.

Johann Sebastian Bach's St John Passion has fascinated people for 300 years. It is perhaps the most moving and dramatic setting of the biblical text. And yet it seems that Bach never quite completed his work. Numerous different sources have been passed down, resulting in different versions, so there is no "one official" St John Passion. The Ensemble Lachrymae would like to trace the original version of the first performance on 7 April 1724, of which most of the material has been lost and the reconstruction is therefore necessarily accompanied by speculation. In order to celebrate the anniversary of one of the greatest masterpieces of music, our version is supplemented by three new compositions which are integrated into the Passion. A prefacing introit by Jonas Kraft opens up a wide sound space, based on early passions by Heinrich Schütz and leading into the maelstrom of the opening chorus "Herr unser Herrscher". Between the two parts of the Passion, Richard Röbel reflects on Peter's denial in his work "TiefenGrund" and recreates the processes within Bach's music in his own musical language. Finally, Pilate's question "What is truth?" does not remain unaswered in this concert. Valentin Ruckebier takes this question as the starting point for a religious-philosophical Meditation, a modern interpretation of a Bach aria. A St John Passion that is both old and new, familiar and unheard, speculative and fascinating, and sheds new light on Bach's work.

image representing the concert

Baroque Sounds

  • J.S.Bach - Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied BWV 190
  • J.-J. C. Mondonville - Dominus regnavit
  • G.-F. Händel - Zadok the Priest

and works by Vivaldi, Lully, Monteverdi, Buxtehude, Rameau und Durante

Join us on a journey through the magnificent music of the 17th and 18th century and hear the Ensemble Lachrymae together with pupils from music schools. This is the first project that Lachrymae has dedicated to the promoting of young talents. Through mentoring and group rehearsals, the young people gain an insight into the work of a professional ensemble and can become part of it for two concerts. The programme includes both well-known and unknown works from Italy, France, England and Germany. Solemn and overwhelming sounds, arias, choruses, concert movements and dances. The variety of baroque music is enormous and the Ensemble Lachrymae likes to present it to the audience full of life and joy.

image representing the concert


  • André Campra - Requiem (Messe de morts)
  • György Ligeti - Lux aeterna

Works of Early and New Music

The Requiem Mass by André Campra, written around 1695, is one of the most important oratorio works of the French Baroque. In alternating choral and solo sections, the themes of life and death, fear and hope, light and darkness are musically processed in multiple ways. Sometimes in heavenly light sounds, sometimes in passionate, emotional outbursts. The Requiem is contrasted with contemporary works for various instrumentations, from chamber music and a cappella choir to the big tutti of the whole Ensemble and and complete the range of musical expression on one of the central themes of human culture